top of page

Beautiful Brownies

Brownies and their batter can be a delectable treat. Unfortunately, too often they are dry and cakey. Over the years I have made and sampled countless confections, but a brownie is still the best crowd pleaser, if you get a great one. Who wants to waste calories on a bad brownie after all?

Licking the wooden spoon in my grandmother’s kitchen is a fond memory. As a team, sweet treats became our specialty. As a dutiful assistant, I learned to measure and keep dry ingredients separate. All of this labor and pushing the spoon with all of my might seemed to lead to amazing brownies every time.

When I became a grown-up I couldn’t be bothered with purchasing all of those ingredients. Taking the time to measure and fuss around when I could buy a mix seemed pointless. I experimented with every brand imaginable. I finally discovered the secret to making any mix brownies better. Simply use butter instead of oil and add chocolate chips for a more multidimensional chocolatey-ness.

Occasionally baking at all is not an option and so I discovered a nice store-bought ready-made version of this desert as well.

Sometimes there is no substitute for a rich and perfectly dense brown square of goodness. Please take advantage of and share my recommendations below. Happy baking!

Nanny’s From Scratch Brownies:

(Made in your kitchen)

7T of cocoa

1 stick of butter

1 cup of sugar

1 egg

3/4 cup of all-purpose flour

1/2 t of baking powder

1/8 t of salt

In a medium mixing bowl, melt butter and stir in cocoa. Slowly add in sugar, then the egg. Mix all dry ingredients in separate container, then slowly add to cocoa mixture with a spoon. Spray an 8x8 inch pan with cooking spray or melted butter and pour in batter.

Bake at 325 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Meet the Ninja parents 

We are Samantha and Ray...

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

Supermommy

King of Dads

Babyville

Krafty Kids

bottom of page